The Trade

Photo Credit: IFimages.com

Very few things drop my jaw.  Living in New York City dramatically decreases your shock value levels.  I have seen people eating out of the garbage, others pleasuring themselves in public, and I even saw a guy holding up a sign the other day that said, “I need money for a penis reduction.”  Yet, I walk on unscathed.  On the other hand, today was the exception.  I was stunned when I saw two guys pulling a …

SOCK SWITCH-A-ROO

Let me start from the beginning.  My very well dressed older brother is expecting a baby this Christmas.  My Mom and I decided to do a little shopping for him this afternoon at FAO Schwarz.  After that we headed downtown to grab an early dinner at one of my favorite restaurants L’Express.  We were waiting for the subway at the Union Square station headed home and that’s when it happened.  Two young 20 something guys were standing on the platform switching socks with each other.  I can not even put into words how bizarre it was, and socks of all things.  Who would want to trade someone else’s sweaty socks after a day of walking in the city in sneakers?  While shaking my head all the way home I thought about all the times I have pulled a switch- a-roo with my friends…millions!  (never socks of course)  But for a man let us make a list of when trading clothes is acceptable.  So in regards to men…

1-       It is never OK to trade worn socks and/or underwear under any circumstance

2-      If you have a big presentation at work and on your way in you spilled coffee on your shirt or pants, then you definitely  need to bribe a co-worker to trade clothes

3-      If you are at a party and someone you like or have a crush on walks in, you did not know they would be there and you are dressed like a walking yard sale, you need to pull a better dressed friend aside and trade.

4-      If you get to a family function and realize there is still lipstick on your collar from the your wild night before, you need to pull cousin Huey aside and ask him if he’ll trade with you and take one for the team.

5-      If you show up to an event under dressed, maybe you could convince a waiter to give you his tie and jacket for the right price of course.

6-      If you show up to a costume/theme party in a great costume but it turns out it was not a costume party.  You may be stuck on this one as I am sure no one will trade with you.

Whatever the case may be you want to avoid pulling a tradeoff if you can.  Especially in public!  Think before you leave your home.  Ask yourself, Do I look great, Am I comfortable enough, Will I be sorry I wore this? and so on.  There are so many situations that may be a wardrobe malfunction in need of a change up.  Just be careful, whether you are desperate or not, not every guy is willing to pull the switch-a-roo for you.

2 comments on “The Trade

  1. jay says:

    Lol cousin huey….I agree with everything u say. It’s like u are the oricle of men’s fashion

    • Thank you Jay, you are generous with your words. I don’t know if I am an oracle but I know I have an eye for style. Please keep reading and commenting. Your thoughts are much appreciated.

      ~Maz

Leave a Reply

