A Hot Mess

Photo Credit: Lisa Romerein/Getty Images

We are officially two days away from fall.  As I was never a big fan of the hot and sticky New York City summers I welcome the transition.  It is during this time of year that many people start stowing away their bathing suits and sandals and begin to take out the bulky sweaters and heavier jackets. Usually during this conversion of seasons and wardrobe we take inventory of our attire.  Amongst all of life’s difficult choices we need to decide which pieces stay and which go.  Anyone who lives in a minuscule studio apartment with limited closet space like me knows that a lot has to go.  Tough decisions must be made and as I already touched on in a previous post, sentimental value is powerful.  I’ll make it easy for you, what needs to go is any article that is…

RIPPED (not in a trendy way)

STAINED

FADED

TOO BIG

TOO SMALL

WRINKLED BEYOND RECOGNITION

I’ve heard a million times, “I love these pants even though they have a hole,” or “This is my favorite shirt but it has a stain on it.”  My reader Sleepless in Astoria mentioned a dislike for wrinkled or stained undershirts while commenting on “Underwear or Outerwear” SIA’s exact remark was “Ewww” I couldn’t have said it better myself.  If you have an article of clothing that has a stain that can’t be beaten, a hole that can’t be mended, or has been through one too many spin cycles, then it is time to say good bye.  And I do not care if you wear something all the time, if your clothes are a hot mess that is exactly what  you will look like wearing them.  Now we all have things that maybe we know we won’t wear again but we want to keep for sentiment’s sake.  Most men do not have too many articles of clothing like this but in case you do, decide what is important and put it in the memory box.  Never wear your sentimental clothing again.  My reader Islander505 asked via a comment to a previous post about his 1986 Super Bowl sweatshirt.  I went back and forth about this comment, but in the end I decided as long as it is in good condition and you look good wearing it then rock on!  But the second it becomes tarnished in any way it goes.  One of my college writing professors said that sometimes when there are ideas you are trying to make work but cannot figure out how, you need to kill your darlings.  The same holds true for articles of clothing.  I know it sounds odd but when you need to make room and stop dressing like you buy your clothes at the five and dime; kill your darlings.

4 comments on “A Hot Mess

  1. Sleepless in Astoria says:

    Thanks for the shout-out, Maz! I love purging closets…especially after watching an episode of “Hoarders.” I’d just like to say that if something is in good condition (not ripped or stained), but you just don’t want it anymore, it’s a good idea to donate it to Goodwill. One man’s trash is another man’s treasure!

  2. Shirtless in the City says:

    Once a t-shirt is officially “used” I like to put it in the “gym” pile. So here’s a topic: What’s appropriate gym wear?

    • Excellent question Shirtless in the City. I applaud your recycling of clothes. At first I was going to answer your question here however after some thought, I plan to write an entire post on this topic. Thanks a million and keep reading.

      ~Maz

Leave a Reply

