Coat Check

Photo Credit: Shula Mann Photography, GQ.com

Photo Credit: Shula Mann Photography, GQ.com

Everyone had on their dancing shoes this past Saturday night at a subterranean joint called Home Sweet Home.  Corny name for a bar if you ask me.  If was a fun time had by all at this speak-easy like establishment.  While I was downing what turned out to be way too many cocktails I scanned the room for potential fashion blunders to write about.  I had almost settled on the fashion faux pas made by the idiot sitting next to me when my gal pal pointed out that a dancing fool of a man right in front of us dared to

TIE HIS JACKET AROUND HIS WAIST

It reminded me of late 80’s cult classic “Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure.” Even Keanu Reeves barely got away with this look in the film.  I laughed out loud. Fortunately the jams were pumping at a mega high volume so this clown did not realize I was almost in tears laughing at him.  This was not just a shirt either, this guy had his winter jacket tied around his waist and he was dancing like he wasn’t committing a fashion crime! I know I may say this often, but who does that?  I mean really, think about it guys, when was the last time you wrapped your jacket around your waist?  I know I can be cruel and I was also a little tipsy but I could not stop laughing/shaking my head at this character.  This is New York so obviously it gets cold in the winter and you can’t venture out without a coat or jacket of some kind. But for crying out loud you have so many options other than tying your jacket around your waist. Your first and best option is to check your coat.  However, not all venues have a coat check.  In that case find a corner, bench, chair, coat rack, hook, or anything of the like and put it down.  It’s not rocket science.  Some people fear if they place their coat or jacket down they may never see it again.  In fact my friend put her sweater down that night and when we left her sweater was gone and she wound up with an upgrade from Barney’s.  I guess a word to the wise here is, if you think there may not be a coat check, don’t wear your most expensive coat; especially to a dive.  It is not always what you are wearing but how you are wearing it that can make or break you. I do not care which celebs are bringing back the retro 90’s look or what flawed body part you are trying to cover up, just do not do it; you are not fooling anyone anyway. We don’t wear underwear on our head or socks on our hands so do yourself a favor and the next time you are considering wrapping your coat/jacket/shirt around your waist, don’t.

Quick Aside:  A few celebs have been seen sporting this look lately.  I’m warning you, it doesn not look sexy no matter who you are.  Read this article about this very subject matter. Shirt Around Waist Trend?

“Style is the answer to everything. A fresh way to approach a dull or dangerous thing. To do a dull thing with style is preferable to doing a dangerous thing without it. To do a dangerous thing with style is what I call art.”
Charles Bukowski   

Leave a Reply

